Silver Palate Rocky Mountain Chocolate Chip Cookies. New Music From Bows.

Silver Palate Rocky Mountain Chocolate Chip Cookies
live in the moment

If you’re looking for traditional, crisp oat-chocolate chippers, this recipe does the trick. It makes a lot, so the cookie jar will be full for at least a day. :)

The ingredient list, with its very neat 1 and 2 quantities, really appeals to the OCD in me.
Silver Palate Rocky Mountain Chocolate Chip Cookies
Silver Palate Rocky Mountain Chocolate Chip Cookies


1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups sifted flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups quick-cooking oats
12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts


1. Cream the butter and both sugars in a large mixer bowl until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, milk and vanilla and beat until blended.

2. Stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together and add to the butter mixture. Mix just until blended. Stir in the oats. Fold in the chocolate and walnuts.

3. Refrigerate the dough for at least 1 hour.

4. Preheat oven to 350℉. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

5. Shape the dough into balls, using a rounded teaspoon for small cookies or a scant tablespoon for large. Flatten slightly into rounded disks. Place 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheets.

6. Bake until the edges are slightly browned but the cookies are still white, 8 to 10 minutes.

7. Remove from the oven and let cookies cool on the sheets for 5 minutes. Remove to wire racks to cool completely. Makes 100 small or 50 large cookies.

Recipe from The Silver Palate Good Times Cookbook
Silver Palate Rocky Mountain Chocolate Chip Cookies
Silver Palate Rocky Mountain Chocolate Chip Cookies

Berkeley-based band Bows debut album ‘The Day We Left’ is described as “a concept album about post-apocalyptic space travel, conspiracy, and adventure”.

I adore concept albums.

‘Time To Go’ is the opening track on the album and evidently the only one to take place on earth. The tune’s ominous “Please don’t take me” pleas play out perfectly over that infectious beat.

Check out Bows on Facebook and Bandcamp where you can buy their music.


About I Sing In The Kitchen

Music obsessed cooking freak whipping up fab food one song at at time.
This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply